The Board

The five members of the Board, including the Chairman, are appointed to staggered five-year terms by the Securities and Exchange Commission, after consultation with the Chair of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System and the Secretary of the Treasury. There is currently one vacancy on the Board.

James R. Doty

Chairman since 2011

Under Chairman Doty's leadership, the PCAOB established the Center for Economic Analysis and continues to expand the Board’s cooperation with international counterparts. He also led the effort to provide greater transparency into the audits of public companies through AuditorSearch, and has overseen the adoption of standards to increase audit quality.  

Full biography Speeches and statements

Steven B. Harris

Board member since 2008

Board Member Harris has been Chairman of the PCAOB Investor Advisory Group since 2009. Earlier, as Staff Director of the Senate Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs Committee under Chairman Sarbanes, he helped shape the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002, which established the PCAOB.

Full biography Speeches and statements

Lewis H. Ferguson

Board member since 2011

Board Member Ferguson is Chair of the Global Audit Quality Working Group of the International Forum of Independent Audit Regulators, following his service as IFIAR Chairman from 2013-2015. He served as the first PCAOB general counsel from 2004 to 2007.

Full biography Speeches and statements

Jeanette M. Franzel

Board member since 2012

Board Member Franzel, a certified public accountant, brings extensive audit experience to the PCAOB after a distinguished career at the U.S. Government Accountability Office. She conducts outreach about PCAOB activities to a wide range of external stakeholders.

Full biography Speeches and statements

Former Board members



William J. McDonough J. McDonoughChairman20032005<a href="/About/Board/Former/Pages/WilliamJMcDonough_Speeches.aspx">Public Statements</a>Former
Kayla J. Gillan J. GillanBoard Member20022008<a href="/About/Board/Former/Pages/KaylaGillan_Speeches.aspx">Public Statements</a>Former
Mark W. Olson W. OlsonChairman, 2006-200920062009<a href="/About/Board/Former/Pages/MarkWOlson_Speeches.aspx">Public Statements</a>Former
Bill Gradison GradisonFormer Board Member20022011<a href="/About/Board/Former/Pages/BillGradison_Speeches.aspx">Public Statements</a>Former
Charles D. Niemeier D. NiemeierFormer Board Member20022011<a href="/About/Board/Former/Pages/CharlesDNiemeier_Speeches.aspx">Public Statements</a>Former