PCAOB Public Meeting on Firm Independence and Rotation

Day 1

Read Transcript

Morning Session (time: 3:49:55)

Archived audio and video


Afternoon Session (time: 4:29:08)

Archived audio and video


Day 2

Read Transcript

Morning Session (time: 3:51:49)

Archived audio and video


Afternoon Session (time: 3:30:29)

Archived audio and video


March 21, 2012, 8:15 a.m. � 5:30 p.m.

8:15 a.m.

Welcome and Opening Remarks


8:30 a.m.

Session One

The Honorable Charles A. Bowsher, former U.S. Comptroller General

The Honorable Richard C. Breeden, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Breeden Capital Management, LLC; former Chairman, U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission

The Honorable Paul A. Volcker, former Chairman of the Federal Reserve; former Chairman of the Economic Recovery Advisory Board

9:30 a.m.

Session Two

James Alexander, Head of Equity Research, M&G Investment Management

Peter Clapman, Chairman and President, Governance for Owners USA, Inc.

Edward J. Durkin, Director, Corporate Affairs, United Brotherhood of Carpenters

Damon A. Silvers, Director of Policy and Special Counsel, AFL-CIO

10:30 a.m.

Session Three

The Honorable Harvey L. Pitt, Chief Executive Officer, Kalorama Partners LLC; former Chairman, U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission

11 a.m.

Session Four

Steven E. Buller, Managing Director, BlackRock, Inc.

Theodore Bunting, Jr., Senior Vice President, Chief Accounting Officer, Entergy Corporation (a member of the Edison Electric Institute)

Valarie L. Sheppard, Senior Vice President and Comptroller, The Proctor & Gamble Company

Darren Wells, Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, The Goodyear Tire & Rubber Company

12 p.m.

Lunch Break


1 p.m.

Session Five

John H. Biggs, former Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, TIAA-CREF

John C. Bogle, founder and former Chief Executive, The Vanguard Group

The Honorable Arthur Levitt, Senior Advisor to The Carlyle Group, Goldman Sachs Group, Inc., and Promontory Financial Group; former Chairman, U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission

2 p.m.

Session Six

Max H. Bazerman, Jesse Isidor Straus Professor of Business Administration, Harvard Business School

Don A. Moore, Associate Professor of Management of Organizations, Haas School of Business, University of California at Berkeley

3 p.m.

Session Seven

Greg Jenkins, Professor of Accounting and Information Systems and the William S. Gay Faculty Fellow, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

Richard L. Kaplan, Peer and Sarah Pedersen Professor of Law, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4 p.m.

Session Eight

Stephen Chipman, Chief Executive Officer, Grant Thornton LLP

Joe Echevarria, Chief Executive Officer, Deloitte LLP

Stephen R. Howe, Jr., Americas Managing Partner and Managing Partner of the U.S. firm, Ernst & Young LLP

Robert E. Moritz, Chairman and Senior Partner, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP

John B. Veihmeyer, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, KPMG LLP

5:30 p.m.



March 22, 2012, 8:45 a.m. � 5 p.m.

8:45 a.m.

Welcome and Opening Remarks


9 a.m.

Session Nine

Paul W. Chellgren, Chairman of the Audit Committee, PNC Financial Services Group, Inc.

The Honorable Roderick M. Hills, Chairman, Hills Program on Governance at the Center for Strategic and International Studies; Partner, Hills, Stern & Morley; former Chairman, U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission

Catherine P. Lego, Chairman of the Audit Committee, SanDisk Corporation and Lam Research Corporation

Alex J. Mandl, Chairman of the Audit Committee, Dell Inc.

Richard Roedel, Chairman of the Audit Committee, Lorillard, Inc.

10:30 a.m.

Session Ten

David M. Becker, Partner, Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP; former General Counsel and Senior Policy Director, U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission

Donald T. Nicolaisen, Chairman of the Audit Committee, Morgan Stanley, Verizon Communications, Inc. and Zurich Financial Services Group; former Chief Accountant, U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission

Robert Pozen, Senior Lecturer, Harvard Business School and Senior Fellow, Brookings Institution

11:30 a.m.

Session Eleven

Jack T. Ciesielski, President, R.G. Associates, Inc.

Mia Martinez, Deputy Director for the Black Economic Council, Latino Business Chamber of Greater Los Angeles and National Asian American Coalition

Mary Hartman Morris, Investment Officer, Corporate Governance, The California Public Employees' Retirement System (CalPERS)

12:30 p.m.

Lunch Break


1:30 p.m.

Session Twelve

Larry Harrington, Vice President of Internal Audit, Raytheon Company; Chairman of the North American Board, Institute of Internal Auditors

Jack Parsons, independent financial consultant

David Hirschmann, President and CEO, Center for Capital Markets Competitiveness (CCMC); President and CEO, Global Intellectual Property Center (GIPC); Senior Vice President, U.S. Chamber of Commerce 

Robert E. Smith, Vice President and Deputy General Counsel, NiSource Inc.; Chairman of the Policy Advisory Committee, Society of Corporate Secretaries and Governance Professionals

2:30 p.m.

Session Thirteen

Barbara Arel, Assistant Professor, School of Business Administration, The University of Vermont

Al Ghosh, Professor of Accountancy, Stan Ross Scholar, Zicklin School of Business, Baruch College -The City University of New York

Arnold Wright, Joseph M. Golemme Research Chair, Northeastern University, College of Business Administration

3:30 p.m.

Session Fourteen

Joe Adams, Managing Partner and Chief Executive Officer, McGladrey & Pullen LLP

Charles M. Allen, Chief Executive Officer, Crowe Horwath LLP

Cynthia M. Fornelli, Executive Director, Center for Audit Quality

Wayne Kolins, Global Head of Audit and Accounting, BDO International Limited

Charles Weinstein, Chief Executive Officer, EisnerAmper LLP


5 p.m.