Board to Hold Roundtable on Audit Documentation

Washington, D.C., Sep. 11, 2003

The Public Company Accounting Oversight Board today announced the participants for a Sept. 29 roundtable meeting to discuss a new auditing standard addressing audit documentation.

Representatives from accounting firms, public companies, investor groups and regulators will participate in the roundtable with members of the Public Company Accounting Oversight Board.

The meeting will be held from 2 to 5 p.m. in the Congressional Room at the Capital Hilton, at 1001 16th St., N.W., in Washington, D.C.

Section 103(a)(2)(A)(i) of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act directs the Board to adopt an audit documentation standard that would require auditors to prepare, and maintain for a period of not less than 7 years, audit work papers, and other information related to any audit report, in sufficient detail to support the conclusions reached in that report. In light of this and other considerations, the Board will be discussing a new standard on audit documentation.

The meeting is open to the public and will be webcast at The audit documentation briefing paper is available under the Standards section of the PCAOB Web site.

The archived webcast of the roundtable can be found under the Event Details and Documents link to the right.

Media contact: Stefanie Mullin 202.207.9142


Accounting Firms

Deloitte & Touche LLP
John Fogarty

Ernst & Young LLP
Mark Pearson

Craig W. Crawford

PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP
Jim Lee

BDO Siedman, LLP
Lynford Graham

Grant Thornton LLP
Keith O. Newton

Crowe Chizek and Company LLC
James L. Brown

McGladrey & Pullen, LLP
Bruce P. Webb

Government Agencies

U.S. Securities & Exchange Commission
Robert Burns, Chief Counsel
Office of the Chief Accountant

U.S. Securities & Exchange Commission
Susan Markel, Chief Accountant
Division of Enforcement

U.S. General Accounting Office
Jeffrey C. Steinhoff
Managing Director, Financial Management and Assurance

State Boards of Accountancy

National Association of State Boards of Accountancy
Robert L. Gray

California Board of Accountancy
Charles R. Drott

Investor Groups

Council of Institutional Investors
Ann Yerger

Damon Silvers
Associate General Counsel


Financial Executives International
Colleen Sayther
President & CEO

Public Company Accounting Oversight Board
George Diacont
Director of Registration & Inspection

Charles A. Bowsher
Bethesda, MD

Michael H. Sutton
Williamsburg, VA

Lynn E. Turner
Broomfield, CO