PCAOB Announces 43 Scholarship Program Recipients for the 2012-2013 Academic Year

Washington, D.C., Jun. 15, 2012

The Public Company Accounting Oversight Board today announced the colleges and universities that will participate in the PCAOB Scholarship Program for the upcoming academic year.

For the 2012-2013 academic year, the PCAOB plans to award 43 merit-based scholarships to students of $10,000 each. This is the Board's second year granting scholarships.

"I am pleased that this scholarship program allows the PCAOB and the academic community to work together to encourage the best and the brightest students to choose auditing as a career path," said PCAOB Chairman James R. Doty.

The Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002 provides that funds generated from the collection of monetary penalties imposed by the PCAOB are to be used to fund a merit scholarship program for students in accredited accounting degree programs. The PCAOB Scholarship Program was created to identify eligible students for scholarships and award funds through the students' educational institutions.

Students may be eligible for PCAOB scholarships if they are enrolled in an accounting degree program at an accredited participating, nominating institution. To qualify, students must do the following:

  • Be enrolled in a bachelor's or master's degree program in accounting
  • Demonstrate interest and aptitude in accounting and auditing
  • Demonstrate high ethical standards
  • Not be a PCAOB employee or a child or spouse of a PCAOB employee

The PCAOB scholarship program is merit-based but educational institutions are encouraged to give consideration to students from populations that have been historically underrepresented in the accounting profession.

A description of the PCAOB scholarship program, along with information on the nomination process, the selection of nominating institutions and other program details can be found on the PCAOB website.

2012-2013 Academic Year Scholarship Recipient Academic Institutions

  1. Arizona State University
  2. Auburn University
  3. Bentley University
  4. Bowling Green State University
  5. Colorado Technical University
  6. DeVry University - Midtown Manhattan
  7. Fairleigh Dickinson University-Florham
  8. Florida International University
  9. Gonzaga University
  10. Grand Valley State University
  11. Illinois State University
  12. James Madison University
  13. McNeese State University
  14. Miami University-Oxford
  15. Northeastern University
  16. Ohio State University
  17. Rider University
  18. Rutgers University-Newark
  19. Saint John's University
  20. Saint Leo University
  21. San Diego State University
  22. Southern Methodist University
  23. SUNY at Albany
  24. Texas A and M University
  25. Universidad Metropolitana
  26. University of Houston
  27. University of Kansas
  28. University of Massachusetts-Amherst
  29. University of Minnesota-Duluth
  30. University of Missouri-Kansas City
  31. University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  32. University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill
  33. University of Phoenix
  34. University of South Florida
  35. University of Southern Indiana
  36. University of Tennessee-Knoxville
  37. University of Toledo
  38. University of Washington
  39. University of Wisconsin-Superior
  40. University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
  41. Villanova University
  42. Wake Forest University
  43. Winona State University