PCAOB Announces Scholarship Program and Academic Recipients

Washington, D.C., Jul. 6, 2011

The Public Company Accounting Oversight Board today announced the inauguration of the PCAOB Scholarship Program and the academic undergraduate and graduate institutions who have nominated a student to receive an award this year.

For the 2011-2012 academic year, the PCAOB plans to award 52 merit-based scholarships of $10,000 each.

"We are grateful to Congress for allowing us to bring the PCAOB and the academic community closer together with this scholarship program that will provide a source of funding to encourage outstanding students to pursue a career in auditing. We hope to inspire future thought leaders in auditing for the benefit of investors," said PCAOB Chairman James R. Doty.

The Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002 provides that funds generated from the collection of monetary penalties imposed by the PCAOB must be used to fund a merit scholarship program for students in accredited accounting degree programs. The PCAOB Scholarship Program therefore has been created to identify eligible students for scholarships and award funds through the students' educational institutions.

The PCAOB has selected ACT, Inc. (ACT) of Iowa City, Iowa, to administer and manage the program on behalf of the PCAOB.

Students may be eligible for scholarships if they are enrolled in an accredited accounting degree program and attend a participating, nominating institution. Students eligible to receive a PCAOB scholarship must:

  • Be enrolled in a bachelor's or master's degree program in accounting
  • Demonstrate interest and aptitude in accounting and auditing
  • Demonstrate high ethical standards
  • Not be a PCAOB employee or a child or spouse of a PCAOB employee

The PCAOB scholarship program is merit-based but educational institutions are encouraged to give consideration to students from populations that have been historically underrepresented in the accounting profession.

A description of the PCAOB scholarship program, along with information on the nomination process, information on the selection of nominating institutions and other program details, can be found on the PCAOB website.

2011-2012 Academic Year Scholarship Recipient Academic Institutions

  1. Brigham Young University
  2. Central Washington University
  3. CUNY Bernard M Baruch College
  4. DePaul University
  5. Eastern Michigan University
  6. Eastern University
  7. Fairfield University
  8. Florida State University
  9. George Washington University
  10. Georgia Southern University
  11. Golden Gate University
  12. Hope College
  13. Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis
  14. Indiana Wesleyan University
  15. Kean University
  16. Lewis University
  17. Louisiana State University and A & M College
  18. Michigan State University
  19. Middle Tennessee State University
  20. Missouri State University
  21. North Carolina State University
  22. Northern Illinois University
  23. Nova Southeastern University
  24. Rhode Island College
  25. Tulane University
  26. University of Alabama
  27. University of Colorado-Denver
  28. University of Connecticut
  29. University of Florida
  30. University of Georgia
  31. University of Hartford
  32. University of Illinois at Chicago
  33. University of Illinois-Urbana-Champaign
  34. University of Louisiana at Lafayette
  35. University of Maryland-University College
  36. University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
  37. University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
  38. University of Missouri-Columbia
  39. University of North Carolina-Charlotte
  40. University of North Carolina-Greensboro
  41. University of North Texas
  42. University of Notre Dame
  43. University of Oregon
  44. University of Pittsburgh
  45. University of Southern California
  46. University of Southern Mississippi
  47. University of Texas at Austin
  48. University of Texas at Dallas
  49. University of Virginia
  50. University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire
  51. Walsh College of Accountancy & Business
  52. Weber State University